Photo credit: Tang Shi

With Japan Open, China Open and Korea Open behind us, the World Tour continues with Chinese Taipei Open. Taipei City it hosting the World Tour Super 300 tournament, which kicks off with qualifications tomorrow.

There are big expectations to the local shuttlers, who top the seedings in four of the five categories. The long time world number one in women’s single, Tai Tzu Ying, and winner of Korea Open, Chou Tien Chen, are obviously favorites to claim the two single titles at Chinese Taipei Open.

Embed from Getty Images

Chou Tien Chen claimed his third title of the year when he won the final at Korea Open against Tommy Sugiarto on Sunday. This week on his home soil he is seeded to meet compatriot Wang Tzu Wei in the final. Many others are of course also travelling to Chinese Taipei to chase a new title.

Very few Europeans

In Chou’s top half of the draw we also find Ihsan Maulana Mustofa (6), Hsu Jen Hao (4) and Lucas Corvee (7), who is one of just two Europeans who are seeded in the men’s single category. Actually there are not very many Europeans playing this week in Chinese Taipei.

Mustofa and Chou are drawn for a potential quarterfinal clash while Hao and Corvee could face each other in another quarterfinal. In the lower half of the draw Wang Tzu Wei has been drawn with two seeded Malaysians and the other seeded European. Daren Liew (3), Chong Wei Feng (8) and Jan Ø. Jørgensen (5) are the strongest names to prevent Wang from making it into the final.

Embed from Getty Images

One title away from hattrick

Chou Tien Chen has won the Chinese Taipei Open the past two years. Last year he defeated Wang Tzu Wei in three games in the final and in 2016 he won against Qiao Bin. Three years ago he was also in the final but had to accept a loss against Chen Long.


Click here to read our preview of the women’s single draw at Chinese Taipei Open


The draw for the seeded players:

Chou Tien Chen, Chinese Taipei (1) vs. Hu Yun, Hong Kong
Riichi Takeshita, Japan vs. Wang Tzu Wei, Chinese Taipei (2)
Qualification Q1 vs. Daren Liew, Malaysia (3)
Hsu Jen Hao, Chinese Taipei (4) vs. Lee Zii Jia, Malaysia
Abhishek Yeligar, India vs. Jan Ø. Jørgensen, Denmark (5)
Ihsan Maulana Mustofa, Indonesia (6) vs. Qualification Q4
Lucas Corvee, France (7) vs. Kim Bruun, Denmark
Nguyen Tien Minh, Vietnam vs. Chong Wei Feng, Malaysia (8)

Subscribe - get a free eBook

When you sign up you agree to our terms and conditions

Awesome! Now check you inbox!

Subscribeand get a free eBook

When you sign up you agree to our terms and conditions

Awesome! Now check you inbox!